Conservation

La fondation Feline Fields

La fondation Feline Fields est une organisation à but non lucratif supportée par l’eco-tourisme de la compagnie Feline Fields pour encourager le développement durable à travers le développement et l’éducation des enfants au Botswana.

Nous avons pour but de construire un équilibre efficace entre la préservation, les communautés locales et le commerce. Notre modèle consiste à s’occuper d’environnements menacés en les protégeant par une gestion intelligente.

Notre motivation

Une grande partie de la faune et de la flore sauvage subit des pressions constantes malgré tous les efforts de préservation visant à les protéger.

Les espèces et leurs habitats sont braconnés, chassés, développés, exploités, pollués, abusés.

Des modèles de conservations alternatifs, audacieux et durables doivent être créés, intégrant les communautés locales, le gouvernement ainsi que le secteur privé.

Kids waving before embarking on the Feline Feields Trust bus

Notre Méthode

Le développement d’un modèle de conservation efficace, financé de manière durable par un tourisme sensibilisé, à faible volume et donc faible impact. Cette initiative du secteur privé créé le capital nécessaire pour financer les initiatives globales de conservation.

Notre ambition première est de créer un certain nombre de programmes phares de conservation dans des zones qui ont été jugées marginales.

Feline Fields met en oeuvre l’écotourisme en tant qu’alternative d’utilisation durable des terres.

Pour une conservation efficace l'utilisation des terres doit avoir un facteur économique, qui offre également des avantages fiables aux collectivités rurales et au gouvernement.

Notre Equipe

Des personnes dévouées de la finance internationale, de l'architecture spécialisée, de la consultation environnementale, de la recherche scientifique et des ressources humaines ont mis en commun leurs compétences et leurs expériences pour créer des projets de conservation innovants dans divers habitats africains menacés.

Nous nous efforçons d’autonomiser les individus de notre communauté en recrutant du personnel local et en développant leurs compétences grâce à une formation intensive de haut niveau.

Dr Bennit checking camera trap

Projets de conservation

Conférences sur la faune

La fondation Feline Fields a présenté une série de conférence sur la faune à des jeunes membres du "Clubs de la Faune" dans cinq écoles primaires sélectionnées dans la région de Maun.

Chaque discours a abouti à un quiz sur la faune. Les gagnants de chaque école ont été récompensés par une excursion d'une journée dans la réserve de Moremi, guidée par le guide principal de Feline Fields, Thapelo Malatsi.

Feline Fields espère que cette série de conférences aidera à susciter l'enthousiasme des jeunes botswanais pour les ressources naturelles du Botswana et l'attrait d'une carrière dans la conservation de la faune. Les discussions sur la faune seront étendues à d'autres écoles et régions du Botswana.

Tennis 4 SOS

Les enfants du Kalahari

Le projet « Les enfants du Kalahari » vise à combler le fossé qui existe entre les communautés et la faune locale en se concentrant sur l'engagement de la prochaine génération.

Pendant l'été, chaque année, l'entreprise invite des groupes de douze enfants défavorisés sélectionnés dans les villages voisins à participer à une expérience de cinq jours dans un camp.

Lors de cette retraite les enfants sont amenés à participer à des activités normalement payantes pour les touristes. Les enfants reçoivent également des cours quotidiens de sensibilisation à l'environnement axés sur des aspects qui pourraient affecter la vie des enfants. Ceux-ci comprennent des opportunités de carrière dans le tourisme, ou des explications sur l'impact négatif du braconnage sur l'environnement et ses répercussions sur l'industrie du tourisme.

Les mentors des enfants sont issus du personnel du camp de Feline Fields qui consacrent du temps et de l'énergie à contribuer au programme. Les participants sont également initiés aux études de chercheurs scientifiques post-universitaires travaillant dans le camp où sont mises en évidence les possibilités dans l'enseignement supérieur dans le domaine.

Grâce à ces programmes, la prochaine génération apprend l'importance de la conservation et les activités proposées s'efforcent de susciter une passion pour l'environnement afin qu'ils deviennent les futurs gardiens de ces zones sauvages vitales.

Conservation

Feline Fields Trust

The Feline Fields Trust is a non-profit organisation supported by ecotourism company Feline Fields to facilitate sustainable conservation through leadership development and education of rural children in Botswana.

We aim to implement a workable formula between conservation, communities and commerce. The model takes stressed and threatened environments and buffers them with compassionate protection and intelligent management.

Our Motivation

Much of the world’s wildlife and wildernesses have come under increasing pressure despite all the conservation efforts to protect them.

Species and their habitats are being poached, hunted, developed, mined, polluted, abused. These increasingly rare places are valued less, not more; protected less, not more.

Alternative, bold and sustainable conservation models must be created, integrating communities, government and the private sector.

Elephant
Feline Fields Trust bus taking kids to conservation talk

Our Method

The development of a sound conservation model, which is sustainably funded through sensitive, low volume, low impact tourism. This private sector initiative creates the capital needed to help fund overall conservation initiatives.

Our primary ambition is to create of a number of flagship conservation programmes in areas that previously have been deemed marginal.

Feline Fields implements ecotourism to maintain conservation as a sustainable land use alternative. In short, in order for conservation to be that preferred land use, there must be an economic driver, which also provides reliable benefits for surrounding rural communities and government.

Our People

Dedicated individuals from the realms of international finance, specialist architecture, environmental consultation, scientific research and human resources have pooled their wide ranging skills and experience to create innovative, world-class conservation projects and hospitality products in a number of diverse and threatened African habitats.

We strive to empower individuals from our community through sourcing of staff locally and skills development through intensive high-level training.

Dr Bennit checking camera trap

Conservation Projects

Wildlife Talks

The founding of Feline Fields Trust was marked by the presentation of a series of wildlife talks to youthful members of Wildlife Clubs at five primary schools selected from the Maun area.

Each talk culminated in a wildlife quiz. The winners from each school were rewarded with a day trip into the Moremi Game Reserve, guided by Feline Fields’ head guide, Thapelo Malatsi.

Feline Fields hopes that this series of talks will help create enthusiasm in Motswana youth for Botswana’s natural resources, and the allure of a career in wildlife conservation. The wildlife talks will be expanded to cover other schools and regions around Botswana.

Tennis 4 SOS

Kalahari Kids

Kalahari Kids aims to bridge the divide that exists between local communities and wildlife by focussing on engaging the next generation.

During summer each year the company invites groups of up to twelve vulnerable or underprivileged children selected from surrounding villages to participate in a five-day camp experience.

At this conservation retreat the children are taken on typical activities paying guests would experience. The children also are provided daily environmental awareness classes focussing on aspects which could affect the children’s lives. These include career opportunities in tourism, both the hospitality side and environmental work, or the negative impact of poaching on the environment and its repercussions on the tourism industry.

The children’s mentors are drawn from Feline Fields’ camp staff who volunteer their time and energy to contribute to the programme. Participants are also introduced to the studies of post graduate scientific researchers working out of the camp where the possibilities of future tertiary education in the field is highlighted.

Through these programmes, the next generation are taught the importance of conservation and the activities offered strive to instil a passion for the environment in order for them to become future custodians of these vital wilderness areas.